• Home
  • >
  • Visa on Arrival

Visa on Arrival


'Tourist Visa on Arrival' has been granted by The Government of India to the Nationals of 150 countries. Albania, Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Island, Chile, China, China- SAR Hongkong, China- SAR Macau, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d'lvoire, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Island, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, USA, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Venezuela, Vietnam., Zambia, Zimbabwe are the countries which are included in this proposition. Chennai, Mumbai, Delhi and Kolkata airports are the airports, from where, the tourists can apply for visa on arrival. With a single entry, there is a maximum validity of 30 days. The terms and conditions that will apply for these categories of visas are given below:

  1. The aim of visiting India on tourist’s visa on arrival should be “visit to meet friends or relatives, sightseeing, recreation, casual visit, etc”. Travelers with any other purpose/activities will not avail Visa-On-Arrival.
  2. No applicant can own a residence or be working in India.
  3. Tourists having a passport with 6 months validity and a re-entry permit, if needed under the law of the country of his/her nationality, can apply for Visa-On-Arrival.
  4. Tourists with guaranteed financial standing can apply. (able to produce return ticket and afford his stay in India)
  5. The applicant must not be banned by India’s Government. He should not be Persona non grata to the Government of India.
  6. Concerned Indian missions will provide Visa to those citizens who want to reside in India for a longer duration.
  7. An applicant, whose parents or grandparents were born in and/or are presently resident in Pakistan, cannot avail this facility. To visit India, they need to provide appropriate visas from the concerned Indian mission.
  8. Applicant’s Visa on Arrival cannot be extended or converted unless the Ministry of Home Affairs gave their stamp of approval.
  9. If a foreign applicant marries an Indian national during validity of his/her tourist visa on arrival, the Visa can be converted to ‘X visa’, if proper documents including marriage certificate is provided.
  10. If an applicant falls ill during validity of his/her tourist visa on arrival, the Visa can be converted to ‘Medical visa’, if proper medical certificates are provided by the tourist.
  11. US$ 60/- or equivalent amount in Indian rupees will be charged from applicants.
  12. A tourist can avail Visa on Arrival only twice in a calendar year.